Going Home (I am)


I thought I’d just pop in and say goodnight very quickly before I go to sleep — after a long day (and a lot of driving) at work, it’s really nice to come home to a very quiet, suburban home.

Jonathan and I live in a 100 year old apartment; the outside of our building is brick and it has a lot of character, including what I think are the original floor boards and radiators.

Our home doesn’t have too many photos on the walls, paintings of exotic places or things; there are no lines marked on the door frames to measure the heights of our children, but in my mind’s eye I can see just where they will be: the kitchen, the doorway between the living and dining rooms, and pictures? They’ll be everywhere.

Every day, I feel a little more us in this space; every day it feels a little smaller, a little cozier–a little more like home.

Sweet dreams to all.

Leave a Reply

