Why I Can’t Wake Up Early (and Other Useless Information)


In case you haven’t noticed, I’ve been fairly bored at work this week, leading me to search for the recipes for what has become the HUGE chocolate/vanilla/cream cake sitting so mischeviously on our kitchen counter (and no, I don’t have a picture once again because I fail), window shop without getting sweaty outside, and learn various useless bits of knowledge about everything from pop-culture to American Sign Language and the history of pencils.

Speaking of pencils, I even found these adorable back-to-school socks, which I am clearly now obsessed with:

Cute, right?

Anyway, I’ve been searching the internet quite a bit and using the handy stumble upon tool to keep things interesting. Recently, a lot of the stumble upon results I’ve been getting have to do with how to wake up early and ready to tackle the day.

Every website says the same thing: early to bed, early to rise. Or, consistency is king (meaning, go to bed at the same time every night, wake up at the same time every morning). These don’t work for me. For the most part, I go to bed at the same time every night, and every day, I wake up at the same time. But it’s still 45 minutes to an hour after I set my alarm, and wanted to wake up.

When I was younger, I used to be the first one up at home: I would treck downstairs to the family room, sprawl out on the huge, comfy, leather sofa, and turn on Boy Meets World, Saved by the Bell, or whatever tweeny show was on that early in the morning. I would be awake for at least a full hour before I went to school, meaning that by the time I got there, I was already awake, and my brain had already been stimulated. Now, I get to work, groggy and exhausted, and can’t motivate myself to lift a finger to the search engine (to do anything relevant, that is).

And I have no idea why. I know that you’re probably all so annoyed at me — I did, after all, name this post, “Why I Can’t Wake Up Early,” not “Why Can’t I Wake Up Early?” You have the right to be mad. And if anyone has any ideas for an answer (I have a few, but they may put you to sleep) I would be open to hearing them.

It’s been somewhat of a goal of mine for some time now to start waking up a little earlier, to just enjoy the quiet-ness of the morning. I want to buy a comfy armchair for the porch, and snuggle outside with a cup of tea to watch as the sky gets brighter, maybe with a book. I want to brew fresh coffee and make scrambled eggs or pancakes for my husband. I want to just be awake before I get to work!

It’s funny, because on the weekends, when the alarm isn’t set, I wake up happier and less groggy than I do during the week, and I think that it has to do with the terrifying and jolting nature of the alarm clock that pulls me out of dreamland. I hate that thing; if I didn’t need it so much in order to keep my job it would be through the window. On the weekends, I sometimes even wake up earlier than I do during the week, ready and raring to go, but I force myself to go back to sleep because I’m like, “carly, you’re gonna regret not getting these extra two hours on Monday morning.”

I don’t want to wake up earlier to go to the gym (although that’d be nice), to do work, or to fulfill any other mandatory-but-menial task that can be accomplished during my already-waking hours. Nope, I want to wake up earlier to think, to learn, and to just be.

Right now, I’m looking forward to the weekend, when I can rest easy knowing that the alarm won’t jab at my eardrums in the morning. Maybe, if I wake up a little early, instead of hitting the internal “snooze” button, I’ll wake up.

Just be.

Good Shabbos!

3 thoughts on “Why I Can’t Wake Up Early (and Other Useless Information)

  1. i have the same problem. i had all these plans this summer to wake up every morning by 10, and go to sleep by 1 or 2 am. but it went to the wayside within a week; i get up at 1pm to go to work at 1:30, and fall asleep around 4am. shame! i too would love to get up and make myself a nice breakfast, maybe sit out in my backyard with a good book and a steaming cup of coffee. why is it so hard to do that? if you figure it out, please let me know! 🙂

    (and also: where did you find those socks? i must have them)!

  2. if you google “back-to-school socks you can find them :-).

    thanks for all of your support and love as i try to get back on the writing bandwagon again. i’ve had several moments where i’ve been like, “I wish meghan could proofread this for me!”

Leave a Reply

