I Feel the Earth Move Under My Feet


You know, when my chair started to bounce, ever so slightly, I thought maybe I’d had too much coffee this morning. And then, when I noticed that my water was swishing around in my water bottle, I realized that I wasn’t the one who was bouncing – and neither was my chair. It was the building. And the building was moving because the earth was moving underneath it.

“Does anyone else feel that?!” my colleague asked.

“Yeah, we all do!”

“Maybe we should move away from the windows…”

And just like that, it was over just as quickly as it started. No evacuations (although every single one of our surrounding buildings did evacuate, including City Hall), and just like most of my readers, I’m guessing, we received our news updates from facebook, learning that the earthquake was felt all the way from Virginia (see: epicenter) to Toronto.

Apparently it was a 5.9 on the Richter Scale.

You never forget your first, right?

One thought on “I Feel the Earth Move Under My Feet

Leave a Reply

