Hope and Change


We’re living in scary times. Living in Israel, it feels sometimes scarier than when we were in the United States — feels like all eyes of the nations are on us, waiting for what may or may not be a war.

When a drone entered Israeli airspace last week, there was very little public media surrounding it. As one of my friends posted on her facebook status:

I used to love talking about politics. Even today, give me a topic: let me talk about social welfare, the media’s sway over public opinion, the economy; chances are I probably have an opinion. And I could talk your ear off. But ask me about today’s leaders or current international relations and I’ll probably shy away from sharing ANY sort of opinion I have. And that’s because I’m quite honestly fed up.

There has been a video circulating around the internet for a few weeks which has gotten over 2 million views on youtube and has been featured in many other news articles, and I think it speaks for itself.  If you have time, I highly recommend sitting through this 19 minute video, where politicians from across party lines speak about some of their concerns with the Obama administration.

I can identify with this woman. Like her, I was also inspired by Obama’s message of hope and change, and I was excited to see him implement the new economic plan he outlined during his campaign, felt optimistic about socializing health care, and thought that he would bring the walk to follow the talk once he was in office. This is why I attended rallies and proudly cast my ballot for Barack Obama in the 2008 primary and presidential election. In hindsight, I feel duped.

Many might accuse me of being a one-issue voter because Israel is so high on my list of voting priorities, but I need to set this misconception straight.

Supporting Israel is not ONE issue. It’s MANY issues. It has to do with posterity, the preservation of democracy in the Middle East and around the world, and making sure that America has an ally in the region. It has to do with preventing Iran from getting nuclear weapons, something that is in everyone’s best interest, and something that this current president has on his priority level BELOW getting re-elected. The time bomb is ticking (pun intended), and Israel is not the only country that’s on the hit list.

To illustrate this point even further, the day after the Benghazi and Cairo attacks, Obama went to a political fundraiser in Las Vegas and was in a jolly mood, not choosing to mention the fallen diplomats or their security team that were brutally murdered. In response to what many countries would interpret as an act of war, Obama apologized for a defamatory video that was later proven to have zero connection to the attacks in the first place, and still can’t give a solid explanation about the attacks, including whether the administration had any previous knowledge of it, or present a plan of action for the future to the families who lost their loved ones in the terrorist attack, let alone to the country.

Just to be clear: I am not only voting based on fears about Israel. Our economy has not improved at all since Obama took office; we are are more in debt as a nation than we were when he was elected. My generation is facing the worst consequences to this current financial situation, and under the Obama administration, thanks to Obamacare taxes are going to increase for everyone, not just the “1%.”

Voting democratic to support a woman’s right to choose is noble, but a republican president won’t have much success even if he vows to overturn Roe v. Wade. They don’t get overturned by veto or by chance — and no president can just snap his (or her) fingers to remove such long-standing freedoms. Voting based solely on such an issue, my friends, would make you the one issue voter.

Obama fooled me once — and as the old adage goes — fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. That’s why when my absentee ballot comes in this week, I’m going to be doing something I never envisioned myself doing. Something that, if you told me five years ago I’d be doing today, I would have never believed you.

I’m voting republican. I’m voting Romney.

4 thoughts on “Hope and Change

    • I have mixed feelings also — I don’t think either of them is an ideal candidate, but I think that Romney has a more realistic view on the economy, will handle international affairs better than this administration has (anything will be an improvement), and will stay true to his values throughout his tenure. I think that, unlike Obama, his walk will match his talk.

Leave a Reply

